Clare County Library
Clare Genealogy
Home | Library Catalogue | Foto | Maps | Places | Archaeology | History | Search this Website | Copyright Notice | Visitors' Book | Contact Us | What's New

Guy's Directory, 1893

Part 4: County Establishment:
County Officers

Her Majesty's Lieutenant of the County and Custos Rotulorum.

The Right Hon. Lord Inchiquin (1879), M A (Cantab), K P, Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus

High Sheriff.

Captain George O'Callaghan Westropp, Coolreagh house, Bodyke

Members of Parliament for the County.

East Clare-William H K Redmond, Saintville, Killiney, co Dublin
West Clare-James Rochfort Maguire, M A Oxon, 10 Park lane, W.


Cullinan, John, Ennis
Frost, John, Clonmoney, Bunratty
Sexton, William, M D, Francis street, Kilrush

County Court Judge and Chairman of Quarter Sessions.

His Honor Judge Kelly, Q C (J P co Galway), 34 Fitzwilliam square south, Dublin; Newtown, Ballyglunin, co Galway

Barony Cess Collectors.

Bunratty lower-John Blood, Ballykilty, Quin
Bunratty upper-C Armstrong, 79 George street, Limerick
Burren-M Davoran, Cahirconnell, Ballyvaughan
Clonderalaw-Francis C Silles, Newtown house, Kilrush
Corcomroe-C Armstrong, 79 George street, Limerick
Ibrickan-Jonas Studdert, Danganelly, Cooraclare
Inchiquin-Henry Faircloth, Curragh, Ennis
Islands-Frederick G Cullinan, Bindon street, Ennis
Moyarta-Michl Studdert, Dromellihy, Cooraclare
Tulla lower-John Kelly Burke, Barbane, Broadford
Tulla upper-Thomas Hanrahan, Ayle, Feakle

Clerk of the Crown and Registrar of Civil Bill Court.

John Henry Harvey (1878), Crown office, Ennis, and Bindon street, Ennis

Clerk of the Peace.

Robert Vere O'Brien, (1862), Peace office, Ennis, and Newhall, Ennis


E Dunlo Croker, Bindon street, and Courthouse, Ennis

Sheriff's Returning Officer.

James B Moloney, Bindon street, Ennis

Secretary to the Grand Jury.

Francis Morice (1846), Springfield, Bunratty

County Surveyor.

John Hill, C E (1845), Bindon street, Ennis

Assistant Surveyors.

Richard Davies, Patrick Gilligan, T H Pilkington, Joseph F O'Connor, Patrick O'Donnell, Richard Dowling

Crown Solicitor.

John Cullinan jun, Church street, Ennis; 31 College green, Dublin

Sessional Crown Solicitor.

John F Cullinan (1859), Riverview, Ennis; 61 Blessington street, Dublin


The Provincial Bank of Ireland, Ennis


Burton, William Conyngham Vandeleur, Carrigaholt castle, Carrigaholt
Crowe, Thomas, Dromore house, Ennis
Fitzgerald, James Foster Vesey (J P co Galway), Moyriesk, Quin
Fitzgerald, William Henry Wilson, Chacombe, Banbury, Oxford
Gore, Edward A (major-gen on active list), Derrymore, O'Callaghansmills
Henn, Thomas Rice, Q C, County Court Judge and Chairman of Quarter Sessions, co Galway, Paradise hill, Killadysert; 48 Upper Mount street, Dublin
MacNamara, Henry V, Ennistimon house, Ennistimon
McDonnell, Charles Randall Armstrong, Newhall, Ennis; Liscrona house, Carrigaholt
Mahon, Thomas George Stacpoole, B A (Oxon), called to the bar Inner Temple 1873; Corbally, Quin
O'Brien, Hon Lucius W ( 2nd Bn Rifle Brigade), Dromoland, Newmarket-on-Fergus
O'Brien, Horace'Stafford, Cratloe woods, Cratloe
O'Brien, James, Ballynalacken, Lisdoonvarna
O'Callaghan, Charles George (late captain 1st Dragoon Guards), Ballinahinch, Tulla
Patterson, Lieut-Col Marcus (Clare militia), Ballycugran, Killaloe; Clifden house, Corrofin
Reeves, Robert William Cary, LLB (Cantab), called to the bar at the Inner Temple, 1862, Besborough, Killimer
Studdert, Major Robert Ashworth (called to the bar 1851, late Clare militia), Kilkishen house, Kilkishen
Vandeleur, Hector Stewart (late captain Rifle Brig) Kilrush house, Kilrush; Woodford house, Thrapstone, Northamptonshire
Westby, Edward P (J P co Dublin), Roebuck castle, Dundrum, co Dublin


Part 4: County Establishment


Part 4: County Establishment:
Justices of the Peace