Clare County Library
Clare Genealogy
Home | Library Catalogue | Foto | Maps | Places | Archaeology | History | Search this Website | Copyright Notice | Visitors' Book | Contact Us | What's New

Guy's Directory, 1893

Part 5: Postal Directory of Towns and Villages:
Official & General Information

Head post, money order and telegraph office
Head postmistress & stamp dist- Mary Scanlan
Telegraphist - J T Scanlan
Conveyances - Kilrush a station South Clare ry
During the summer months the vessels of the Lower Shannon Steamship Company ply daily between this place and Limerick
Fairs and Markets - Kilrush, Last Wed each month (cattle and pigs), 10 May, 12 Oct; market day Saturday
Ballyket- Thurs before Whit Sun, 4 July, 17 Aug (cattle), 1 Dec

Poor Law Union of Kilrush.

Twenty-seven electoral divisions. Board of Guardians meet every Saturday
Chairman Michl Mescall, Drumellihy, Cooraclare
Vice-chairman Thomas Lillis, Churchtown, Cooraclare
Deputy Vice-chairman Patrick Connell, Burrane, Killimer
Treasurer National Bank, Kilrush
Clerk and Returning officer Augustus Warren, Broomhill
Master and Matron Francis O'Donnell and Bridget Crowe
Chaplains Church Ireland, Ven Archd William H Wolseley, A M; R Catholic, Rev Sylvester Malone, P P, V G
Medical officer Dr Wm Septon
Relieving officers Carroll Daly, Moor street, Kilrush; Michael Downes, Carrigaholt; Francis Corry, Mullagh; Francis Keane, Kilkee
Rate Collectors Daniel Breen, Ptk Kelly, Michl Galvin, Ptk McInerney
Supt Registrar Births, Deaths and Marriages Augustus Warren, clerk of union

Dispensary and Registration officers.

Carrigaholt Dr John M Studdert
Craganknock Dr Jos Keane Healy
Kilkee Dr Patrick C Hickey
Kilmihil Dr John B Sullivan

Town Commissioners.

Chairman-John C Mahony, J P
Clancy, James Kelly, Thomas, solr
Clancy, John Lynch, Michael
Crowley, Batt O'Brien, Luke
Culligan, John, J P O'Dwyer, Richard
Doohea, James Reidy, John
Finucane, Joseph
Clerk-John Murphy
Harbour Master-Andrew Burke


Scattery Island, Rinana point. Light fixed white, showing red over the Rinana shoal; visible 10m.; building white
Beeves, on the rock. Flash white; visible 10m.; building dark stone colour

Petty Sessions Court.

Petty Sessions held every Monday. Quar Sess dist of Kilrush

Res Magistrate A M Harper
Clk Petty Sess Robt H Borough
Civil bill officers Joseph Garry. Ennis road; Hugh Jackson; Michael Eustace

Constabulary District of Kilrush.

Dist Inspector William S Irwin
Head Constable Corns O'Brien
Sergeants in charge of station of district-

Kilrush Garrett Dee
Carrigaholt 15m. B Magrath
Cooraclare 5m. Richard Cotter
Doonbeg 9m. James Keating
Kilkee 8m. Charles O'Sullivan
Knock 6½m. John Flanagan

Revenue Department.

Superintendent D Moylan
Income-tax collector P McInerny


Boat Club Sec, Joshua Dowling, Cappagh

Benevolent Association.

St Patrick's Benevolent Association Pres, John O'Brien; vice-pres, P J Boyle; sec, John R McNamara

Branch Banks.

Provincial bank ltd, Francis st Manager, J O'Ryan
National bank ltd, Francis st Manager, Denis Fetherston

Commissioners Affidavits

Mahony, John C
Slattery, Thomas

District Registrar of Marriages.

Warren, Augustus, Broom hill

Places of Worship.

Church Ireland, Grace st Ven Archdeacon William H Wolseley, A M, rector
Catholic (St Senan) Rev Sylvester Malone, V G, P P; Revs Patk Sweeny, Daniel Courtenay and John Scanlon, curates
Methodist Rev John Johnston
Presbyterian Rev William Sorsby


Sisters of Mercy Mother M A Spence, sup


Christian Brothers, Toler street, Director Br S Flanagan
National, head teachers
Kilrush D Herlihy
Convent, Toler street Sisters of Mercy
P L U James O'Dwyer; Mrs M O'Dwyer


Part 5: Postal Directory of Towns and Villages:


Part 5: Postal Directory of Towns and Villages:
Kilrush: Gentry, Clergy, Principal Residents, etc.