Clare County Library
Clare Genealogy
Home | Search Library Catalogue | Foto: Clare Photo Collection | Search this Website | Copyright Notice

The History and Topography of the County of Clare by James Frost
Part II. History of Thomond
Chapter 26

Book of Forfeitures and Distributions—continued
Barony of Moyarta: Part C
: Moyarta Parish

The whole parish of Moyarta was, in 1641, divided in ownership between the Earl of Thomond and Sir Daniel O'Brien of Carrigaholt; their title was confirmed, at the time of the Cromwellian Settlement in 1667. The following denominations belonged to the Earl of Thomond, namely:- Querrin, Ballyraght, Curragh, Tullaroe, Farranvilleone, and Clooncarron; and the undernamed were the property of Sir Daniel O'Brien:- Doonaha, Lisheencrony, Furoor, Kilcasheen, Kilcrory, Moveen, Carrownaweelaun, Carrowneanagh, Bellia, Killiny, Moyarta, Rahona, Rinemackaderrig, Kilcredaun, Cloonconeen.

In this parish, the following lands were occupied as tenants, by the undernamed persons, in 1659; Carrigaholt, Edmond Fitzmaurice, gent.; Querrin, Isaac Vanhogarden, gent.; Moveen, Lieut.-Col. John Wright; Lisheen, Daniel and John Cahane, father and son. Other occupiers were: John O'Horane, Francis Willoughby, Thos. Lucas, and Carey Dillon.

About the year 1712, the Earl of Thomond made a lease, for ever, of the lands of Querrin, in this parish, to Anthony Hickman and Richard Freeman, at the early rent of £40.

Back to Moyarta Barony