Clare County Library
Clare History
Home | Search Library Catalogue | Foto: Clare Photo Collection | Search this Website | Copyright Notice

The History and Topography of the County of Clare by James Frost

Part III. History of the County of Clare
Chapter 29. Ecclesiastical

List of Protestant ministers in Clare, in 1622

It was part of the plan devised for the subjugation of Ireland, that the Protestant religion should supersede the old faith of the inhabitants. With that design, the parishes included in the county of Clare, as well as those of other counties, were placed under the care of Protestant clergymen, imported for the most part, from England. It may be well believed that the labours of these gentlemen were light, seeing that there were hardly any lay members of their own faith, and that the general crowd were ignorant of their language. Money however was to be got, and that was a matter not be neglected by the needy adventurers who flocked over from the other side of the water. We give here, a list of the Protestant ministers of Clare, taken from a Royal Visitation made in 1615, and from Bishop Rider’s Answer to Inquiries made by a Royal Commission as to the condition of the Diocese of Killaloe, in 1622: [1] “Prebend of Tomgraney, value £20, Incumbent The Lord Bishop of Limerick; Prebend of Tulla, £16, Daniel Kennedy; Prebend of Dysert, £2, John Steere; Prebend of Clondegad, £1, Nicholas Booth; Prebend of Rath, £1, Richard Wilkins; Parishes—Killaloe, value £20, Randal Huxley; Clonlea, £20, Richard Fuller and Andrew Chaplin; Kilseily, £16, Richard Fuller and Wm. Donnellan; Killuran, £8, same Rector and Vicar; Killokennedy, £13, Richard Fuller and Marmaduke Taylor; Kilnoe, £13, Richard Fuller and John Corbett; Feakle, £20, Richard Fuller and J. Corbett; Ogonolloe, £24, Fuller and Taylor; Kiltanonlea, £15, Richard Chaloner; Quin and Clooney, £40, Bishop of Limerick and John Jessopp; Doora, Templemaley, and Kilraghtis, £40, Bishop of Limerick and Richard Walker; Tulla, Wm. Hewitt; Kilmurry, £16, Bishop of Limerick and Andrew Chaplin; Tomfinlogh, Geo. Zouch (afterwards Robert Sibthorpe), £15; Kilnasoolagh and Clonloghan, £38, John Yorke; Kilmaleery and Kilconry, £26, Cornelius Keiton; Dromline, Nich. Bright; Dromcliffe, £45, and Kilmaley, £12, Thomas Pritchard; Killinaboy, £15, Barth. White; Rath, £15, Andrew Lysaght, (afterwards Neptune Blood); Dysert, John Twenbrooke, £30; Kilnamona, £10, Richard Walker; Kilkeedy, £15, Daniel O’Mara; Clondagad, £15, Nicholas Booth; Kilrush, Thos. Edens; Kilfiddane and Killofin, £28, Lau. Boyle; Kilmurry and Killimer, £34, Thos. Tunsteed; Kilmacduane and Kilmihill, £30, Murtagh Considine; Kilfeeragh and Moyarta, £34, Peter Ellis; Kilyballyowen, Dermot O’Harney, £8; Killard and Kilfarboy, Edward Phillips, £37; Kilfenora, £5, Dean Donnellan (revolted to Popery); Treasurer, Evan Jones; Chancellor, Richard Walker; Archdeacon, Hugh Powell; Parishes of Noghaval, £1 10s., Murtagh O’Davoren; Killonaghan, Barth. White; Kilcorney, John Wilson; Carron, Mark Paget.”