Clare County Library
Clare History
Home | Search Library Catalogue | Foto: Clare Photo Collection | Search this Website | Copyright Notice

The History and Topography of the County of Clare by James Frost

Part III. History of the County of Clare
Chapter 30. Reign of James II. and William and Mary. 1689 to 1700.

List of the names of these gentlemen [Gentry called upon to furnish horses for the service of the king]

The following is the list referred to in the foregoing letter:—

Tulla Barony.—Thomas Spaight, Teige M‘Namara of Loghort; Simon Purdon, Esq.; John Grady, James Grady, gent.; Florence M‘Namara, Esq.; Henry Thornton, Daniel M‘Namara, Esq.; Donogh M‘Namara of Ranna; Nicholas Magrath, Henry Tucy (?), Capt. Teige M‘Namara, of Ranna; Henry Bridgeman, John Cusack, James Stackpoole, John Magrath, Ambrose Pery, Edward Nagle, Patrick Arthur, Teige Molony, Donogh M‘Namara of Derryfadda.

Bunratty Barony.—John M‘Namara, Esq. of Cratloe; Sir Donogh O’Brien, bart.; Thomas M‘Namara, D. M‘Namara of Gra; T. M‘Namara, John M‘Namara, Esq., of Moyriesk; Roger M‘Namara, Edward Uniacke, Managh Grady, Andrew Creagh, John Magee, David Bindon, Capt. Edward FitzGerald, Capt. John FitzGerald, Edward Pympton, Ignatius and Patrick Connell, Edward Delahoyde, Francis O’Brien, D. M‘Namara, John Clancy, D. M‘Namara, Giles Vandelure, Wm. Reyall, T. Dillon, Wm. Butler, Henry Coopp, Michael Comyn, H. Desterre, Richard Glue, John Resine, Peter Ware, John Colpoys, Sir Oliver Burke, Manus Grady, L. Grady.

Inchiquin Barony.—Thomas Blood, Edward Hogan, M. O’Dea, D. Grady, Pierce Butler, D. Kerin, H. Hehir, M. Griffa, Lieut.-Col. Donogh O’Brien, Capt. D. Neylan, L. Hehir, R. O’Connell.

Corcomroe Barony.—Donogh O’Brien, Esq., of Ennistymon; John Hurly, Brian Hanrahan, Thomas O’Connor, James Coffee, Wm. M‘Donogh, Dermot O’Teige, James FitzGerald, Murtagh O’Brien, Daniel Clancy, Thomas Clancy, Andrew Hehir, Michael M‘Donogh, Boetius Clancy, Capt. Michael Lynch.

Burren Barony.—Col. Turlagh O’Loghlin, his son Daniel, Murtagh O’Brien, Constance Davoren and Hugh Davoren of Ballymurphy; James Davoren, George Martyn, Wm. Davoren, Wm. Lamer (?), Edmond Breen, John M‘Donogh, D. Roe O’Loghlen, J. O’Daly, J. Mariaghan (?), M. Davoren of Noghoval; J. M‘Donogh.

Ibrickan Barony.—Augustine FitzGerald, Andrew White, Edmond Dwyer, Patk. Comyn, — Cullinan, Dowager Lady Clare, M. Nihill.

Moyarta Barony.—James M‘Donnell of Kilkee; Henry Hickman, Edmond Moroney, C. Considine, Brian Keane, John Vanhogard, Richard Creagh, Murtagh M‘Mahon, Dermot Considine, Richard Scott, Pat Wolfe, J. M‘Namara.

Clonderalaw Barony.—Mountiford Westropp, Thomas Crofton, J. Lynch, T. Considine, P. White, Conor M‘Mahon, Robert Peacock, Henry Lee, Daniel Finucane, T. M‘Mahon, Theo. White, George Mellon, George Ross, Richard Henn.

Islands Barony.—The Provost of Ennis, William Herriot, Michael Wolfe, Sam Burke, James Creaghe, Owen Considine, L. Curry, T. O’Brien, James Aylmer, James Bedand (?), J. Hickman, George Stamer, S. Hehir.