Clare County Library
Clare History
Home | Search Library Catalogue | Foto: Clare Photo Collection | Search this Website | Copyright Notice

The History and Topography of the County of Clare by James Frost

Part III. History of the County of Clare
Chapter 30. Reign of James II. and William and Mary. 1689 to 1700.

King James convokes a parliament at Dublin to which Clare and Ennis send representatives; List of persons connected with Clare, attainted by that Parliament

On the 7th of May, 1689, King James convened a Parliament in Dublin, and its sittings continued from that date till the 20th of July following. Clare sent as its representatives Daniel O’Brien, and John M‘Namara of Cratloe, while Ennis was represented by Florence M‘Carthy of Dromod, and Theobald Butler, of Sranagaloon. The work of James’ short Parliament consisted of nine statutes. In the second of them the names of a great number of persons are given, and these are declared attainted by reason of their absence from the country. Those set down as having fled from Clare were the undernamed: Wm. O’Brien, Earl of Inchiquin; Henry O’Brien, Lord Ibricken (son of the Earl of Thomond); William O’Brien, Lord O’Brien (son of Lord Inchiquin); Henry Hickman of Doonnagurroge, gent.; Thomas Hawkins of Killaloe, gent.; Conor O’Brien of Dromore, gent.; James Hamilton, Esq., son of Wm. Hamilton; Francis Burton of Buncraggy, Esq.; Francis Gore of Mountshannon, gent.; Samuel Lucas of Corofin, gent.; John Drew of Ballyvanine, gent.; Henry Brady of Tomgraney, gent.; Elizabeth Frost and Jane Frost (both of these widows, and stated to belong to the county of Tipperary). [8] From another list (MS. Trinity College, F., 4. 3.) it appears that the undernamed persons had also gone away from Clare: Michael Lysaght, A. Purdon, Thomas Smith, Swithen Walton, George Synge, Richard Cox, Rev. John Patterson, and John White.