Clare County Library
Clare History
Home | Search Library Catalogue | Foto: Clare Photo Collection | Search this Website | Copyright Notice

The History and Topography of the County of Clare by James Frost

Part III. History of the County of Clare
Chapter 30. Reign of James II. and William and Mary. 1689 to 1700.

Tax levied, and commissioners appointed for its collection; The County of Clare required to furnish two regiments, one of cavalry and the other of infantry; List of the officers of these

On the 10th of April, 1690, King James issued orders that a sum of £20,000 per month should be levied for the service of his army. The proportion of this which was applotted on Clare was £1,798 per quarter, and the commissioners appointed for its assessment were the following:—Sir Donogh O’Brien, Bart.; John M‘Namara of Cratloe; Donogh O’Brien of Dough; Daniel M‘Namara of Ayle; John M‘Namara of Moyriesk; James Aylmer of Cragbrien; Fineen M‘Namara, Samuel Burton, and the Provost of Ennis. John M‘Namara was named the head collector of the tax. [2]

In the early part of the year 1689, the Duke of Tyrconnel, Lord Lieutenant of Ireland, called upon the Irish loyalists to take arms in defence of the rights of their sovereign, James II. His summons was instantly complied with. It was ordained that the county of Clare should supply two regiments—one of Dragoons, to be commanded by Daniel Viscount Clare; and the other of Infantry, under the command of his second son, Charles O’Brien. Commissions were issued to those gentry of the county who adhered to the cause of James, and we give here a list of the officers of the two regiments as furnished in the work of Mr. Dalton called King James’ Army List.” Clare’s Dragoons, or, as they were called from the colour of the facings of their uniform, “the Yellow Dragoons,” were officered as follows:—

Lieut.-Colonel—James Philips. Mayor—Francis Brown of Galway. Captains—Fineen M‘Namara, John M‘Namara of Cratloe (appointed Lieutenant-Colonel in the latter part of 1689); Redmond Magrath of Derrymore; Maurice Fitzgerald of Rosslevan; James MacDonnell of Kilkee; Nicholas Bourke, (a transplanted papist, of the barony of Islands); John FitzGerald; Roger O’Shaughnessy of Gort; Teige O’Brien (probably of Mountcashel), Thady Quinn (afterwards of Adare). Lieutenants—James Purcell and John Hurley (both county of Limerick gentlemen), John Ryan, of Moanageenagh, parish of Kilnoe; Turlogh O’Brien, David Barry of Inagh; Murrogh O’Brien, Owen Cahane (Keane), of Lisdeen, near Kilkee; Sylvester Purdon, William Lysaght of Kilcornan; Joseph Furlong, Patrick O’Hehir, Richard Bedford of the county Wicklow. Cornets—Daniel O’Brien, Thomas Fitzgerald, Thady Mulqueeny of Templemaley; Murtagh Hogan of Rath; Hugh Perry of Feakle parish; Thomas O’Donnell, Nicholas Archdekin, John Bourke (probably a son of Nicholas above named), William Neylan of Ballyallia, Laurence Dean, Hugh Hogan of Rath parish; Thomas Clancy of Killilagh parish. Quartermasters—James Neylan of Rosslevan; William Hawford, Laurence M‘Namara, James White, James Ryan, Christopher O’Brien, Edmond Bohilly, Gerald Fitz Gerald, Daniel M‘Namara, Dermot O’Sullivan, James O’Dea of Dysert, Thomas Lee. Quarter-master Barry, and Surgeon Neylan.

The following were the officers of Colonel Charles O’Brien’s regiment of infantry:—Lieutenant-Colonel—La Motte Darquet. Major—William Saxby. Captains—Conor M‘Mahon, Thomas Magrath of Kilbarron; Dermot O’Callaghan of Kilgorey; Daniel Molony of Ballysheen; Ignatius Sarsfield of Doolin; Morgan O’Connell of Breantra; Donogh O’Brien, Turlogh M‘Mahon of Clonderalaw; Donogh M‘Namara, John Rice, Thady M‘Namara, Teige Ryan of Clongaheen; William Bourke, Daniel Neylan of Dysert; Thomas Fitz Gerald. Lieutenants—M‘Namara, Bourke, Thomas Barry of Breantra; Teige O’Brien of Tulla parish; Winter Bridgeman of Mountcashel; James Molony of Kiltanon; William Shannon, Edward Barry of Breantra; Barnard Sale, Henry M‘Donogh of Ballykeale; Donogh M‘Namara, Donogh O’Brien, Philip Dwyer of Cranagher; Nicholas Comyn of Kilcorney; John Hurley, Dominick White, and Michael Scanlan, all three of Limerick. Ensigns—M‘Namara, White, Thomas Bourke, Theobald Bourke, Calla O’Callaghan of Kilgorey; Stephen Stritch of Limerick; Joseph Sarsfield of Doolin; Teige O’Connell of Breantra; Teige O’Hehir of Kilmaley; Murtagh M‘Mahon of Knockalocha; Thomas O’Grady of Inchicronan, Patrick White, — Dodd, and Lewis Ryan. De Burgh, Quarter Master; Hurley, Chaplain; and Bolton, Surgeon. [3]