Clare County Library
Clare History
Home | Search Library Catalogue | Foto: Clare Photo Collection | Search this Website | Copyright Notice

The History and Topography of the County of Clare by James Frost

Part I. Topography of Thomond Chapter 5. Ui Cearnaigh; Ui Conghaile; East Corcabaskin

Ui Cearnaigh

The proprietors of this territory, previously to the year 1318, were the O’Eichtigherns, now Anglicised Ahern. It appears from MacNamara’s Rental that it comprised the parish of Kilfinaghta and part of the district lying between that parish and the city of Limerick. The name of Ui Cearnaigh is still locally preserved in that of the river Ogarney, which passes through Sixmilebridge, and falls into the Shannon near Bunratty. The Ogarney flows through the midst of the district, from the castle of Enaghoflinn to that of Rossmanagher. After that the river forms the boundary between Ui Ainmire and Tradraighe. It was an ancestor of O’Ahern, an ancient chief of this territory, who granted to St. Munchin the Island of Inis Sibtond, now the King’s Island, near Limerick. It does not appear that all the country reaching from Limerick to Kilmurry-na-gaull was included in the lands of the Ui Cearnaigh, since we have the authority of O’Heerin for placing two other chieftains in this district namely, the Ui Ainmire and Ui Sedna. The probability is that the territory of Ui Cearnaigh extended from the mountain of Sliabh Oighidh-an-Righ or Glennagross mountain to the parish of Kilmurry, and that the country stretching thence to the Shannon was divided between the Ui Ainmire and the Ui Sedna.