A keen contest

In all, 46 towns made submissions to a jury of eminent telecoms and digital experts to become the Information Age Town. This jury included Alfie Kane, chief executive of Telecom Éireann, Sean Scanlan, professor of Electronic Engineering at UCD, Dan Flinter, chief executive of Forbairt, Danny O’Hare president of Dublin City University, and Gerry O’Sullivan, head of corporate relations at Telecom Éireann. By July, the jury had shortlisted four towns - Killarney, Kilkenny, Ennis and Castlebar - from the initial 46 and these towns then prepared more detailed presentations over the summer. On September 24th at the Point Depot in Dublin, Ennis was declared the winner of the competition.

The 46 towns that initially made submissions to the jury were: Thurles, Tuam, Arklow, Dungarvan, Cobh, Killarney, Carrick-on-Suir, Castlebar, Bandon, New Ross, Mallow, Youghal, Maynooth, Dundalk, Tralee, Sligo Town, Greystones, Malahide, Skerries, Carrigaline, Swords, Letterkenny, Clonmel, Wexford Town, Leixlip, Naas, Enniscorthy, Carlow Town, Ballinasloe, Mullingar, Longford Town, Tullamore, Athy, Tipperary Town, Bray, Kilkenny Town, Shannon, Ennis, Fermoy, Tallght, Wicklow Town, Athlone, Drogheda, Ballina, Portlaoise and Navan.