Clare County Library
Clare Places and Placenames
Home | Search Library Catalogue | Foto | Maps | Archaeology | Folklore | Genealogy | History | Museum | Search this Website | Copyright Notice | What's New

County Clare: A History and Topography 1837 by Samuel Lewis

 
Scarriff

A post-town, in the parish of Tomgraney, barony of Tulla, county of Clare, and province of Munster, 8 miles (N. W. by N.) from Killaloe and 943/4 (W. by S.) from Dublin, on the road from Killaloe to Williamstown and Portumna; containing 761 inhabitants. It is situated on the river Scariff, which flows into the picturesque bay of the same name, opening into Lough Derg on the Shannon, and might be easily made navigable from the bay to Lough Grady, about a mile above the town: the river is here crossed by a bridge of three arches. This is a pleasing little town, occupying an ascent from the river, and consisting chiefly of one main street : in 1831 it contained 120 houses, some of which are neatly built. An excellent new and level road, which has been lately constructed between Killaloe and Williamstown, chiefly along the shores of Lough Derg, passes through the town. Here are extensive oil and flour-mills, and a considerable number of coarse hats are manufactured in the immediate vicinity. Fairs are held monthly. A smelting furnace for iron was formerly in full work here. In the R. C. divisions it gives name to a union or district, comprising the north-eastern part of the parish of Tomgraney, and the entire parish of Moynoe, and containing the chapels of Scariff and Knock O’Grady. During the disturbances, in 1831, an encampment was formed on Shene hill, in the vicinity, which was occupied for two months by a party of the military.

County Clare A History and Topography by Samuel Lewis
Courtesy of Clare Local Studies Project

<< Scariff - Historical Background

 


Rathbourney

Home


Six-mile-bridge