The Eilis Dillon Award

The Eilis Dillon Award, introduced five years ago, goes to the author of an outstanding first children’s book. Eilis Dillon had a long association with the Bisto Book of the Year Awards, having been a chairwoman of the Irish Children’s Book Trust in 1989 when the awards were established.

Year Title Author
2000/2001 The Lost Orchard Patrick Deeley
1999/2000 Fierce Milly Marilyn McLaughlin
1998/1999 Dea-Scéala Caitrona Hastings
1997/1998 It’s a jungle out there Ed Miliano
1996/1997 The Guns of Easter Gerard Whelan
1995/1996 Lockie and Dadge Frank Murphy
1994/1995 Melody for Nora Mark O’Sullivan

Back to Award Winning Books for Children