The Nestle Children's Book Prize

Britain’s biggest prize for children’s fiction and poetry. The shortlist is chosen by a distinguished panel of judges who pass their shortlist on to 150 classes of schoolchildren all over the country. Their votes decide the winners.

Year   Title Author
2000 0-5 Max Bob Graham
  6-8 Lizzie Zipmouth Jacqueline Wilson
  9-11 The Wind Singer William Nicholson
1999 0-5 The Gruffalo Julia Donaldson
  6-8 Snow White and the Seven Aliens Laurence Anholt
  9-11 Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban J.K. Rowling
1998 0-5 Cowboy Baby Sue Heap
  6-8 The Last Gold Diggers Harry Horse
  9-11 Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets J.K. Rowling
1997 0-5 Ginger Charlotte Voake
  6-8 The Owl Tree Jenny Nimmo
  9-11 Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone J.K. Rowling
1996 0-5 Oops! Colin McNaughton
  6-8 The Butterfly Lion Michael Morpurgo
  9-11 The Firework Maker’s Daughter Philip Pullman
1995 0-5 The Last Noo Noo Jill Murphy
  6-8 Thomas and the Tinners Jill Paton Walsh
  9-11 Weather Eye Lesley Howarth
1994 0-5 So Much Trish Cooke
  6-8 Dimanche Diller Henrietta Branford
  9-11 The Exiles at Home Hilary McKay
1993 0-5 Hue Boy Rita Phillips Mitchell
  6-8 War Game Michael Foreman
  9-11 Listen to the Dark Maeve Henry
1992 0-5 Nice Work, Little Wolf Hilda Offen
  6-8 The Story of the Creation Jane Ray
  9-11 The Great Elephant Chase Gillian Cross
1991 0-5 Farmer Duck Martin Waddell
  6-8 Josie Smith Magdalen Nabb
  9-11 Krindlekrax Philip Ridley
1990 0-5 Six Dinner Sid Inga Moore
  6-8 Esio Trot Roald Dahl
  9-11 Midnight Blue Pauline Fisk

Back to Award Winning Books for Children