Clare County Library
Your Library Your Website
Home | Children's Services | Special Services | Books of the Month | Library Events | Branch Libraries | Book Promotions

Transition to new national National Library Management System (Sierra)


All branch libraries will close at 5.30pm on Wednesday 6th July 2016
and will re-open at 2.30pm on Friday 8th July 2016.
Re-opening times are subject to change.

The online catalogue will be unavailable until Monday 11th July.

Clare County Library, in conjunction with ten other library authorities nationwide, will be joining the six library services already using Sierra, the new national Library Management System (LMS), based in Dublin. The new service is an initiative of Libraries Ireland and is managed by Libraries Development, LGMA on behalf of the Public Library Authorities.

The new LMS will enable members of each participating county library service to use the services of the other participating counties.

The changeover to the new system is scheduled to take place on the 8th of July 2016, and it is expected that for the day before this branch libraries in County Clare will be closed and the online catalogue will be unavailable to facilitate the transition. We regret any inconvenience caused.

Following the move to Sierra, the new national Library Management System,

you will have a much wider range of books and other items to choose from.
You can borrow a maximum of 12 items (including DVDs) for 3 weeks from any branch of the participating public libraries.*
You can reserve up to 12 items at no charge.
You can return your books and DVDs to any branch of the participating library services.*
We will send you a reminder, by email, to let you know that your books and DVDs are due back, that items you requested are ready for collection, and to let you know about library events.
You can reserve and renew books and other items 24/7 using our online service.
You will be charged a fine of five cent (€0.05) per day for any item not returned or renewed on time.
You won’t need to get a new library card but we ask you to bring your card with you each time you visit the library – this will help you get the most out of our new system.
There may be some teething problems as we introduce our new computer system and make these changes – please bear with us!

The library participating library services are Clare, Donegal, Galway, Kerry, Kildare, Limerick, Louth, Mayo, Meath, Tipperary, Waterford, Wexford and Wicklow.

For information on the new shared library catalogue, please contact

Divider Line