Clare Archives
Our mission: to collect, preserve, promote and provide access to County Clare’s rich archival heritage
Library Homepage | Search Library Catalogue | Foto: Clare Photo Collection | Maps | Search this Website | Copyright Notice

Poor Law Unions

County Clare was originally divided into the four unions of Ennis, Kilrush, Ennistymon and Scarriff. Four new unions were created in County Clare in 1850, including Tulla, Ballyvaughan, Kildysart and Corofin. Records survive for Corofin, Ennis, Ennistymon, Kilrush and a single minute book has survived for Scarriff Union. Unfortunately, records for Ballyvaughan, Kildysart and Tulla Unions were destroyed by fire during the War of Independence.

<< Background to Local Authority Collections

<< Clare Archives


Board of Guardians Minute Books