Clare County Library
Clare Genealogy
Home | Search Library Catalogue | Foto: Clare Photo Collection | Maps | Places | Archaeology | History | Search this Website | Copyright Notice | What's New

The Butlers of County Clare by Sir Henry Blackall


Appendix XIII: Public Office

Offices held by the Clare and Galway Butlers             
A.D. Members of Parliament[223]        
1689 Sir Theobald Butler        Borough of Ennis 
1689 James Butler, Grangebeg (later of Boytonrath and Doon)     Co. Tipperary 
High Sheriffs          
1704 William Butler,   Rossroe  Co. Clare   
1712 William Butler,    Rossroe,  Co. Clare  
1743 James Butler,   Castlekeale, Co. Clare 
1801 Walter Butler,   Cregg, Co. Galway 
1830 Augustine Butler,   Ballyline,  Co. Clare   
1844 William Butler,    Bunnahow,  Co. Clare   
1851 James Butler,   Castle Crine, Co. Clare  
1868 William T. Butler,   Bunnahow,  Co. Clare   
1881 Theobald Butler,   Ballyline,  Co. Clare   
Deputy Lieutenants           
  Henry Butler,   Castle Crine,   Co. Clare   
  Augustine Butler,  Ballyline, Co. Clare   
1846 James Butler,    Castle Crine, Co. Clare  
1868 Theobald, 24/14 Lord Dunboyne,     Co. Clare   
Justices of the Peace             
1563 Piers Butler,     Grallagh, Co. Tipperary 
1701 William Butler,     Rossroe,  Co. Clare   
1742 James Butler IV,     Doon,   Co. Clare  
1750 William Butler,     Castle Crine,  Co. Clare   
1761 Henry Butler,     Bryan’s Castle, Co. Clare   
1770 Francis Butler,     Cregg, Cos. Clare & Galway
1796 Walter Butler,     Cregg, Cos. Clare & Galway
  William Butler I[224]    Bunnahow,  Co. Clare   
1799 Henry Butler,     Millbrooke, Co. Clare  
1808 Henry Butler,     Castle Crine, Co. Clare  
1809 James, 23/13 Lord Dunboyne,     Co. Clare
1829 William Butler II,     Bunnahow,  Co. Clare  
  Walter Butler,     Walterstown, Co. Clare  
  Augustine Butler,     Ballyline,   Co. Clare   
1836 James Blake Butler,     Glenwilliam,  Co. Clare   
1845 James Butler,     Castle Crine Co. Clare  
1847 Michael Butler,     Walterstown,  Co. Clare   
1849 Francis Butler,     Cregg,  Co. Galway 
1850 Walter Butler, II,     Walterstown,  Co. Clare   
1851 Nicholas Butler,     Walterstown,  Co. Clare   
1852 Rev. Theobald Butler,     Ballyline,  Co. Clare   
1855 Theobald 24/14 Lord Dunboyne,     Co. Clare    
1859 Henry Butler,     Rathorpe, Co. Clare
1862 Hon. Theobald Butler,     Knoppogue,  Co. Clare  
1862 William Butler IV,     Bunnahow,  Co. Clare  
  Theobald Butler,     Ballyline,  Co. Clare  
1879 Henry William Paget Butler[225]     Co. Clare  

Appendix XII: Reversal of
Outlawries of Two Lords Dunboyne


Appendix XIV:
Business and Pleasure