Clare County Library
Clare Genealogy
Home | Search Library Catalogue | Foto: Clare Photo Collection | Search this Website | Copyright Notice

The History and Topography of the County of Clare by James Frost

Part II. History of Thomond
Chapter 26

Book of Forfeitures and Distributions—continued
Barony of Ibrickan: Part B

In 1641, the whole of the barony of Ibrickan, with the following exceptions, belonged to the Earl of Thomond:

Tromra castle was granted to the Earl of Thomond, and to Turlagh, son of Dermot O'Brien. Lismuse and Lisgureen, in the parish of Killard, belonged in 1641 to Sir Daniel O'Brien and Hugh Clancy. By the Commissioners, under the Act of Settlement in 1660, Tromra castle was given to the Earl of Thomond, Colonel Carey Dillon, and Robert Dixon; and Lismuse and Lisgurreen were likewise bestowed on the Earl. Thus, by the Cromwellian Settlement, he became confirmed in the ownership of the whole barony. In 1659 and 1664, he had let certain townlands to the undernamed tenants: - KILFARBOY PARISH - Kilfarboy, Maurice Hickey and George Norton; Laccamore, Michael Creagh; Fintra, Daniel Clancy, Murtagh Mahon, Murtagh Clancy, John Clancy, Teige M'Inerney, Daniel Clancy, and Maoelin Mulroney; Carrowkeel, Hugh Clancy; Ballyvaskin, Edmond Bourke; Poulawillin, Teige Line; and Glendine, Daniel Lyne. KILLARD PARISH - Doonmore, John MacNamara, James FitzGerald; Cloonagarnaun, Pierce Moroney; Cloonmore, John Bagot; Glascloon, Mahone Kelly; Caherlean, Maurice Roche; Enagh, Walter Hickman; Tullaher, Isaac Vanhoogarden; Doonbeg, James Fox, Maurice Roche; Doonsallagh, Egan O'Egan; Shanvogh, Dermot M'Fineen; Coor, Francis Casey; Knockanalban, David Nihill; Carrowduff, Teige Murphy. KILMURRY PARISH - Knockanalban, William Hobson; Shanavogh, Daniel Moriarty; Craggaknock, Edmond Fox; Caherush, Nicholas Wolfe; Knockloskeraun, Teige O'Lyne; Emlagh, Nicholas Woulfe; Tromra, Samuel Burton; Scrappul, Patrick Arthur; Rineroe, Richard White; Ballymackea, Patrick Pierce.

About the year 1712, the Earl of Thomond made a letting, for ever, to Robert Hickman, of the lands of Doonmore, at the yearly rent of £35; of Doonbeg, to John Stacpoole, at £60 a year; of Doonogan and Knocknahila, to Anthony Casey, at £55; of Ballard, to Edward Dalton, at £45; of poulawillin, to Thomas Moroney, at £90; of Doonsallagh, to James Woulfe, at £40; of Quilty, to William Butler and Conor O'Dwyer, at £29; of Ballymackea, Ryne, Cloghamatinny, and Shanavogh, to John Stacpoole, at £80; of Kilfarboy, Freagh Castle, and Ballyvaskin, to William Fitzgerald, at £90; of Annagh and Fintramore, to William Butler, for William Stacpoole, at £22; of Carrowduff, to John Howes, at £16; of Kildeema, to James Shannon, at £13; of Shandrum, to Charles M'Donnell, at £14; of Glendine, to Garrett O'Connor, at £60; of Cloghanemore, to Michael Comyn, at £30; of Moy, to Augustine FitzGerald, at £80; of Tromra Castle, to Mrs. Alice Burton, at £86; of Glascloon, to George Stacpoole and John Nihill, at £52; of Killard and Caherlean, to John Westropp, at £40.

Back to Baronies

Back to The History and Topography of the County of Clare by James Frost