Clare County Library
Clare Genealogy
Home | Search Library Catalogue | Foto: Clare Photo Collection | Search this Website | Copyright Notice

The History and Topography of the County of Clare by James Frost
Part II. History of Thomond
Chapter 26

Book of Forfeitures and Distributions—continued
Barony of Moyarta: Part C
: Kilballyowen Parish

The entire of the parish of Kilballyowen belonged, in 1641, to Sir Daniel O'Brien of Carrigaholt, first Viscount, and the ownership was confirmed to his son Conor, second Viscount Clare, by the Commissioners, under the Act of Settlement in 1660. His tenants, in 1659, were John Monarto, and Dermot Monarto his son, of the lands of Killielagh; Teige MacNamara, Maurice FitzGerald, and Walter Brown, of part of the same lands; of Kilballyowen, Major Nicholas Fitzmaurice, and Thomas Fitzmaurice; of Tullig, Richard Creagh, and John Walsh; and of Kilclogher, Donogh and Dermot Croghen, William Hierley and Teige Leary.

Back to Moyarta Barony