The Churches of County Clare
By T. J. Westropp, M.A.
 Home | Search Library Catalogue | Search this Website | Copyright Notice
Clare County Library

Survey of the Churches [106]

A uniform order has been adopted in this list: (1) the name; (2) sheet of the Ordnance Survey, of 6 inches to the mile; (3) the parish, if the church is not a parish church; (4) dimensions and architecture: appended buildings, if any; (5) name and date of the reputed founder, with historical notes actually bearing on the building, age, and ancient form of the name; (6) principal monuments before 1800; and (7) published descriptions. [107]

Diocese of Kilfenora

Barony of Burren
Barony of Corcomroe

Diocese of Killaloe

In this diocese we still follow the order from west to east, but are obliged to make two divisions. The first approximately covers the Dalcassian states, the second, the district of Corcovaskin; the latter possibly representing that part of the diocese of Iniscatha which lay in Clare, and is now included in the baronies of Ibricane, Clonderlaw, and Moyarta.

Barony of Inchiquin
Barony of Islands
Barony of Bunratty Upper
Barony of Bunratty Lower
Barony of Tulla Upper
Barony of Tulla Lower
Barony of Ibrickane
Barony of Clonderlaw
Barony of Moyarta


Back to The Churches of County Clare