Mason's Parochial Survey, 1814-19

la Home | Search Library Catalogue | Search this Website | Copyright Notice
Clare County Library


Union of Kilrush, Killard, Kilfieragh, Moyferta, and Kilballyhone

VIII. State of Religious Establishment, Tythes, &c.

The following account of the state of the religious establishment in this union, taken chiefly from public documents, exhibits a striking elucidation of the imperfect and inadequate footing upon which the Protestant church stands here, as well as in many other parts of Ireland at this day, from the operation of that great evil, the impropriation of tythes, with the former subduction of the ancient mensal lands of the national clergy.

The glebe of Kilrush contains 3A. 2R. 25P. On this small spot the present incumbent has erected an excellent glebe house and offices. The glebe of Kilfieragh contains 3A. 2R. 35P. Tradition says that it was once much larger, and some remains of adjacent boundaries would seem to corroborate the opinion. Killard and Moyarta have no glebe. The glebe of Killballyhone contains 3A. 0R. 20P.

The vicarage of Kilrush is in the gift of the Bishop of Killaloe: the rectory, (a sinecure) in that of the Marquis of Thomand. Kilfieragh is a rectory, in the gift of the bishop, who also presents to the vicarage of Killard. George William Stackpole, Esq. is the proprietor of two-thirds of the tythes of his own estate in this parish, and also those of some other lands. The Rev. Richard Studdert also owns the tythes of his own estate. Moyarta is a vicarage, in the gift of the Bishop of Killaloe; but the vicar has a right to the rectorial and vicarial tythes on the townlands of Querin, Tullarue, Rathanesky, Clarefield, Newtown, Tarmon, and some other lands. In this parish, or that of Kilballyhone, are some townlands, two-thirds of the tythes of which are annexed to the prebend of Tomgrany, in this diocese, from which these lands are distant upwards of 50 miles. Killballyhone is a vicarage, in the gift of the Bishop of Killaloe; but the vicar has a right both to rectorial and vicarial tythes, on the townlands of Kilclogher and Kilbaha. These five parishes are at present episcopally united.

The corps of the prebend of Inniscattery or Kilrush, consists of the vicarge of Kilrush, and all the tythes of the parishes of Killard, Kilfieragh, Moyarta, and Kilballyhone, except the vicarages of the last four parishes; and it is said that this corps cannot be legally divided.

Wheat, oats, rape, hemp, flax, potatoes, meadow, orchards, brood mares, milch cows, sheep, pigs, geese, and hens are tytheable, though tythes are not exacted on all these articles. The lay impropriations of the greater part of the western parishes belong to Lord Castlecoote, although these lands were all forfeited to the crown by Lord Clare.

There are but two parish churches here, one at Kilrush, and the other Kilfieragh. The former is about to be rebuilt; it is one of the most ancient churches in Ireland, and much too small for its present congregation. The church of Kilfieragh is said to have been preserved from dilapidation by the Macdonell family, whose original residence is near it. It is now in good order, and as Kilkea is becoming a place of great resort for sea bathing, the congregations in summer are often very large.
The roman Catholic chapels are five, viz. at Kilrush, Dunbeg, Lissdeen, Moyarta, and Kilballyhone. Most of these have been rebuilt and slated since the year 1799. A Methodist meeting house has been lately erected in Kilrush.

Back to Union of Kilrush, Killard, Kilfieragh, Moyferta, and Kilballyhone