Clare County Library
Clare Places and Placenames
Home | Search Library Catalogue | Foto| Maps | Archaeology | History | Search this Website | Copyright Notice

Clare Civil Parishes

The civil parish was the fundamental administrative unit within each county. These parishes were based on the medieval Christian parishes, adapted by the English administration and the Protestant Church of Ireland. Government and Church of Ireland records between the 17th and early 20th centuries utilized these territorial units. They are not currently used as administrative units.

Catholic parishes differ from civil parishes and are generally bigger in size. The Catholic parish system is still evolving and forms the basis for much of Ireland's social, educational and sporting activities. Catholic Parish Registers of birth, marriage and death are organised by Catholic parish.
Click here for a list of Catholic parishes and their church records.

Ordnance Survey Maps showing parishes:
The civil parishes of Clare are also accessible visually as a result our online Ordnance Survey Maps project, by selecting the particular parish from the online Ordnance Survey Maps Search Window. Click here for help in doing this. You may require a plugin for your browser to view these maps - more info here >>

The civil parishes of Clare are given below.

parishmap2.jpg (15123 bytes)

Click image for larger map of parishes in Clare

Abbey Bunratty Carran Clareabbey Clondagad Clonlea
Clonloghan Clooney
(Bunratty Upper)
Clonrush Doora Drumcliff
Drumcreehy Drumline Dysert Feakle Feenagh Gleninagh
Inagh Inchicronan Inishcaltra Kilballyowen Kilchreest Kilconry
Kilcorney Killadysert Kilfarboy Kilfearagh Kilfenora Kilfiddane
Kilfinaghta Kilfintinan Kilkeedy Killaloe Killard Killaspuglonane
Killeany Killeely Killilagh Killimer Killinaboy Killofin
Killokennedy Killonaghan Killone Killuran Kilmacduane Kilmacrehy
Kilmaleery Kilmaley Kilmanaheen Kilmihil Kilmoon Kilmurry
Kilmurry Kilnamona Kilnasoolagh Kilnoe Kilraghtis
Kilrush Kilseily Kilshanny Kiltenanlea Kiltoraght Moyarta
Moynoe Noughaval O'Briensbridge Ogonnelloe Oughtmama Quin
Rath Rathborney Ruan St. Munchins St. Patricks Templemaley
Tomfinlough Tomgraney Tulla      

<< Places