Clare County Library
Clare Places and Placenames
Home | Search Library Catalogue | Foto: Clare Photo Collection | Maps | Search this Website | Copyright Notice

County Clare Poor Law Unions

In 1838 Ireland was divided into administrative districts known as Poor Law Unions
‘for the more effectual relief of the destitute poor’. Clare was divided into four Poor Law Unions: Ennistimon, Ennis, Kilrush and Scariff with part of south east Clare falling into Limerick Union and part of north east Clare falling into Gort Union. In 1850 four additional Unions were created: Ballyvaghan, Corrofin, Killadysert and Tulla, with part of south east Clare remaining in Limerick Union.

Ballyvaghan Corrofin Ennis Ennistimon
Killadysert Kilrush Limerick Scariff

Poor Law Unions 1840-'49

Poor Law Unions 1850-'89
Source of images: The Poor Law Records of Counties Limerick, Clare and Tipperary by S.C. O’Mahony. Supplement to North Munster Antiquarian Journal vol. XXI 1979.

Back to Places