Clare County Library
Clare Places
Home | Search Library Catalogue | Foto: Clare Photo Collection | Maps | Search this Website | Copyright Notice

County Clare Registration Districts

Registration Districts were originally called Dispensary Districts and were established by the Medical Charities Act of 1851 as subdivisions of the Poor Law Unions. They were initially responsible for public health matters and with the introduction of civil registration of births, marriages and deaths in 1864, dispensary districts became registration districts, with the Registrar responsible for making quarterly returns to the General Register Office, Dublin. More info... (external link).

Table showing all Registration Districts with their townlands etc

Annacarriga Ballynacally Ballyvaghan Bridgetown
Carrigaholt Coolacasey Corrofin Craggaknock
Crusheen Ennis no 1 Ennis no 2 Ennis Rural
Ennistimon Feakle Kilkee Kilkishen
Killanniv Kilmihil Kilrush Labasheeda
Milltownmalbay Mountshannon Newmarket Quin
Roadford Tulla    

<< Back to Places