Clare County Library
Clare Places and Placenames
Home | Search Library Catalogue | Foto: Clare Photo Collection | Maps | Search this Website | Copyright Notice

County Clare District Electoral Divisions (DEDs)

District Electoral Divisions originated as subdivisions of Poor Law Unions, grouping a number of townlands together to elect one or more members to a Poor Law Board of Guardians. Today, DEDs are known as Electoral Divisions (EDs) and are mainly used for collecting and organising census figures and for voting. In 1901 there were 154 DEDs in County Clare, changing to 155 by 1911, which is the number at present.

Abbey Annagh Ayle Ballagh Ballyblood
Ballycannan Ballyea Ballyeighter Ballyglass Ballynacally
Ballynahinch Ballysteen Ballyvaskin Boherglass Boston
Caher Caherhurly Cahermurphy
(Kilrush Union)
(Scarriff Union)
Cappavilla Carran Carrowbaun Castlecrine Castletown
Clareabbey Clenagh Cloghaun Cloghera Clondagad
Cloonadrum Cloonanaha Clooncoorha Clooney
(Ennistymon Union)
(Tulla Union)
Cloontra Cloonusker Coolmeen Coolreagh Cooraclare
Corlea Corrofin Cratloe Creegh Crusheen
Dangan Derreen Derrynagittagh Doonbeg Doora
Drumcreehy Drumellihy Drumline Drummaan Dysert
Einagh Ennis Rural Ennis Urban Ennistimon Fahymore
Feakle Formoyle Furroor Glendree Gleninagh
Glenmore Glenroe Inishcaltra North Inishcaltra South Kilballyowen
Kilchreest Kilclogher Kilfenora Kilfiddane Kilkee
Kilkishen Killadysert Killaloe Killanena Killanniv
Killard Killaspuglonane Killeely Killilagh Killimer
Killinaboy Killofin Killokennedy Killone Killuran
Kilmihil Kilmurry
(Killadysert Union)
(Kilrush Union)
Kilnamona Kilraghtis
Kilrush Rural Kilrush Urban Kilseily Kilshanny Kiltannon
Kiltenanlea Kiltoraght Kinturk Knock Knocknaboley
Knocknagore Kyle Lackareagh Liscannor Liscasey
Lisdoonvarna Lisheen Loughea Lurraga Magherareagh
Milltownmalbay Mount Elva Mountievers Mountshannon Moveen
Moy Moyarta Muckanagh Mullagh Newgrove
Newmarket Noughaval O'Briensbridge Ogonnelloe Oughtmama
Querrin Quin Rahona Rath Rathborney
Rathclooney Rinealon Rossroe Ruan Scarriff
Sixmilebridge Smithtown Spancelhill St Martins Templemaley
Toberbreeda Tomfinlough Tulla Tullig Tullycreen

<< Back to Places